Some advice needed 1ZO-808 exam

Help and support on OCA OCP Java Programmer Certification Questions
1Z0-808, 1Z0-809, 1Z0-815, 1Z0-816, 1Z0-817

Moderator: admin

BlackCat

Some advice needed 1ZO-808 exam

Post by BlackCat »

Hi there I am new to this forum.

I need some advice / encouragement! I have several years developer experience but never really used Java before. I did a couple of beginner tutorials on Pluralsight at end of 2019, then I decided i would like to study for the 1ZO-808 exam. I know there are now Java 11 exams but I decided to do Java 8 as it seemed there were a lot more study guides available.

I bought an online tutorial from Udemy called "Oracle Java Certification - Pass the Associate 1ZO-808 exam". I also bought from Udemy their "OCA (1ZO-808) Exam Simulation 2020" - there are 4 practice exams in this.

I have worked through all of the online tutorial (using IntelliJ to run for myself the code for they examples they give), I thought it was pretty thorough and i understood most of it. Each section has Question examples at the end and i found i was getting around 50% of those right, and I understand the explains for the 50% i was getting wrong.

I've now done 2 of the 4 practice exams, but I have scored 51% and 48% which is quite dispiriting. I hoped i might get nearer to 60% at least on the first couple of attempts.

What should I focus on next? Should I just continue to do as many practice exams as I can do and hope that my scores start improving? I know I can get more from Enthuware or from Whizlabs. Or should I go through the Udemy online tutorial again? Or should I think about buying a book such as "OCA Java SE 8 Programmer I Certification Guide" by Mala Gupta and start working through that instead? Has anyone else started off with practice exams and found they are scoring around 50% initially? At what point did their scores start improving?