About Question com.enthuware.ets.scjp.v6.2.742 :

Help and support on OCA OCP Java Programmer Certification Questions
1Z0-808, 1Z0-809, 1Z0-815, 1Z0-816, 1Z0-817

Moderator: admin

Pierluigi

About Question com.enthuware.ets.scjp.v6.2.742 :

Post by Pierluigi »

Hello,
I'd like to know more about the implicit casting occuring when converting from an "int" type to a "float" type. The book I'm studying on for the exam does not mention anything about the significant digits of a "float" type variable, it only states that an int type can be implicitly cast to a float type since it hasn't a greater bit length than float, so its value can "fit" in a float variable.
The Explanation of this question only says that "values of type float are not precise to nine significant digits".

admin
Site Admin

Re: About Question com.enthuware.ets.scjp.v6.2.742 :

Post by admin »

This is not required for the exam but if you really want to understand the how and why of casting between int and double/float, you should go through this : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_754-1985

Basically, when you store a float/double in 32/64 bit space, you use some bits to store the starting digits of the actual number and some bit to store the exponent. While in case of int/long, you use all the bit to store the digits of the number and there is no exponent. Hence, you are able to store large numbers in float/double but at the cost of precision. For example, instead of storing all the digits of say 1234567890, you are storing, 1.2 and then 9, which means 1.2 X 10**9. (Of course, this actually happens in binary and not in decimal ). So you have lost the least significant digits 3456789. If you stored it in a int/long, you would store all the digits.