Oracle Java Certification Exam Levels and Categories

Java Certification Paths after 1st March 2022 - New 1Z0-829 Certification

Oracle Java Certification exams, which were earlier known as Sun Java Certification exams, are industry respected certifications in Java technology. There are several levels and categories of exams depending on the experience level of the candidate, namely - Junior Associate, Associate, Professional, Expert, and Master. The certifications that focus on Java programming are commonly known as OCAJP and OCPJP. Some people still call them by their old acronyms such as SCJP, SCP, OCJP, and OCP. The Java Expert level certifications focus on specific technologies such as EJBs, JPA, Web Components/Servlet/JSP, and Web Services. They are commonly known as OCE-EJB, OCE-JPA, OCE-WCD, and OCE-JWS.

As of 31st March 2019, Oracle has discontinued several certification exams. Most importantly, the Java EE 6 Certifications for EJB, JPA, Servlet/JSP, Web service exams have been discontinued.

Another important change is that for Java 11 and Java 17, the Oracle Certified Associate level for Java Programmer certification has been removed. Instead of upgrading the OCA Java 8 exam to OCA Java 11 exam, they have completely removed the OCA level for Java 11 and Java 17. There is now only one exam for each of these two Java versions. The 1Z0-819 exam for OCP Java 11 and the 1Z0-829 exam for OCP Java 17.

Furthermore, there are no "upgrade" exams anymore. So, for example, if you are already OCP Java 8 or Java 11 certified, there is no special upgrade exam to acquire OCP Java 17 certification. You need to take the regular 1Z0-829 exam to acquire it.

All Java Certification exams are listed below with their exam codes -
Skills/Certification Exam Code Experience
Status Java Version
Java Foundations Certified Junior Associate (JFCJA) 1Z0-811 Newbie Current
Java 8
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 17 Programmer (OCPJP/SCJP) 1Z0-829
2 years+
Java 17
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 11 Programmer (OCPJP/SCJP) 1Z0-819
2 years+
Java 11
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 6 7 8 to 11 Programmer UPGRADE  (OCPJP/SCJP) 1Z0-817
2 years+
Java 11
Oracle Certified Associate, Java SE 8 Programmer (OCAJP/SCJA) 1Z0-808 0-2 Years Outdated but still Exists Java 8
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 8 Programmer (OCPJP/SCJP) 1Z0-809
2 Years+
Outdated but still Exists Java 8
Oracle Certified Professional, Java EE 7 Application Developer 1Z0-900
4 Years+
Still Exists
Java EE 7

Note that the experience level is not required by Oracle but is just a guideline.


There are five types of certification levels that are structured under the Oracle's Java certification path. These five levels are:

  • Java Foundations Certified Junior Associate (JFCA)
  • Oracle Certified Associate (OCA)
  • Oracle Certified Professional (OCP)
  • Oracle Certified Expert (OCE)
  • Oracle Certified Master (OCM)

The following are the details of different certifications under each level on the certification path. Note that, each certification would have multiple version of the same certification corresponding to the different Java SE or Java EE version.

  • Java Foundations Certification: Junior Associate certifications are focused on students in secondary schools, two- and four- year colleges and universities who have participated in the Oracle Academy program and/or are studying computer science including relevant Java and database curricula and faculty members who teach foundational Java, database and computer science classes.
  • Associate Level Certification: If you are new to Java, by becoming an Oracle Certified Associate, Java Programmer I (OCAJP), you will acquire a base set of knowledge that enables entry into a career in application development or software project management using Java technology.
  • Professional Certification: As a Java Programmer, in order to demonstrate that you’ve acquired required skills, you should take Oracle Certified Professional, Java Programmer – II (OCPJP) exam. Earning this certification will take your Java career to next level.
  • Expert Level Certification: Expert level certifications are to test the knowledge on any special areas in Java EE technology. This exam helps you to move upwards in your Java Career from a Programmer level. The following are the list of certification under the Oracle Certified Expert (OCE) level. These certifications are very important to advance in your Java career path. However, all of the following certifications have now been discontinued by Oracle.
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java EE Web Component Developer (OCEJWCD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java Persistence API Developer (OCEJPAD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java EE Enterprise Java Beans Developer (OCEEJBD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java EE Web Services Developer (OCEJWSD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert,  Java ServerFaces Developer (OCEJSFD)
  • Master Certification: This is the final level of certification in the Java certification path. You set yourself a class apart by achieving Oracle Certified Masper, Java EE Enterprise Architect (OCMJEA), responsible for architect and designing Java Platform, Enterprise Edition technology-compliant applications that are scalable, flexible, and highly secure.

The goal of these Oracle Java Certification Exams is to test you on respective job roles in Java Industry. In order to prepare and pass these certification exams, you would require sufficient level of understanding of respective Java technologies. However, you would also require the understanding of the exam pattern, type of questions you are going to be tested on and most importance sufficient practice.

Enthuware Oracle Certification Java Exam preparation solutions ensure that you’ve gained sufficient knowledge and practice to pass these coveted industry certifications in 1st Attempt. 

If you have any queries related to Oracle Java Certification, course, payments, etc., please feel free to contact us.