Oracle Java Certification Exam List

OCP Java 17 Certification (exam code 1Z0-829) is the latest and greatest Java certification as of June 2024, but OCP Java 21 Certification (Exam Code 1Z0-839) is widely expected to be released soon.

The following is a list of all the Java Certifications offered by Oracle.

Note that, as of 31st March 2019, Oracle has discontinuted Java EE 6 Certifications for EJB, JPA, Servlet/JSP, and Web services.

Each exam has an exam code. The exam names and codes are listed below -
Skills/Certification Exam Code Experience
Status Java Version
Java Foundations Certified Junior Associate (JFCJA)
Download Java Foundations Certified 8 Study Guide
1Z0-811 Newbie Current
No Prerequisites
Java 8
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 21 Developer  (OCPJD 21)
Download OCP Java 21 Certification Study Guide
2 years+
Not Yet Relesed
No Prerequisites
Java 21
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 17 Developer  (OCPJD 17)
Download OCP Java 17 Certification Study Guide
2 years+
No Prerequisites
Java 17
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 11 Developer  (OCPJD 11)
Download OCP Java 11 Certification Study Guide
2 years+
No Prerequisites
Java 11
Oracle Certified Associate, Java SE 8 Programmer (OCAJP/SCJA)
Download OCA Java 8 Certification Study Guide
1Z0-808 0-2 Years Old but still Exists
No Prerequisites
Java 8
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 8 Programmer (OCPJP/SCJP) 1Z0-809
2 Years+
Old but still Exists
Prerequisite: Must have OCA 8
Java 8
Oracle Certified Professional, Java EE 7 Application Developer 1Z0-900
4 Years+
Still Exists
No Prerequisites
Java EE 7
Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 11 Programmer UPGRADE 1Z0-817
2 Years+
Prerequisite: Must have passed any one of SCJP 6, OCP 7, OCP 8
Java 11

Note that the experience level is not required by Oracle but is just a guideline.


There are five types of certification levels that are structured under the Oracle's Java certification path. These five levels are:

  • Java Foundations Certified Junior Associate (JFCA)
  • Oracle Certified Associate (OCA)
  • Oracle Certified Professional (OCP)
  • Oracle Certified Expert (OCE)
  • Oracle Certified Master (OCM)

The following are the details of different certifications under each level on the certification path. Note that, each certification would have multiple version of the same certification corresponding to the different Java SE or Java EE version.

  • Java Foundations Certification: Junior Associate certifications are focused on students in secondary schools, two- and four- year colleges and universities who have participated in the Oracle Academy program and/or are studying computer science including relevant Java and database curricula and faculty members who teach foundational Java, database and computer science classes.
  • Associate Level Certification: If you are new to Java, by becoming an Oracle Certified Associate, Java Programmer I (OCAJP), you will acquire a base set of knowledge that enables entry into a career in application development or software project management using Java technology.
  • Professional Certification: As a Java Programmer, in order to demonstrate that you’ve acquired required skills, you should take Oracle Certified Professional, Java Programmer – II (OCPJP) exam. Earning this certification will take your Java career to next level.
  • Expert Level Certification: Expert level certifications are to test the knowledge on any special areas in Java EE technology. Oracle used to have the following certification under the Oracle Certified Expert (OCE) level. Most of them have been discontinued by Oracle now.
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java EE Web Component Developer (OCEJWCD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java Persistence API Developer (OCEJPAD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java EE Enterprise Java Beans Developer (OCEEJBD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert, Java EE Web Services Developer (OCEJWSD)
    • Oracle Certified Expert,  Java ServerFaces Developer (OCEJSFD)
  • Master Certification: This is the final level of certification in the Java certification path. You set yourself a class apart by achieving Oracle Certified Masper, Java EE Enterprise Architect (OCMJEA), responsible for architect and designing Java Platform, Enterprise Edition technology-compliant applications that are scalable, flexible, and highly secure.

The goal of these Oracle Java Certification Exams is to test you on respective job roles in Java Industry. In order to prepare and pass these certification exams, you would require sufficient level of understanding of respective Java technologies. However, you would also require the understanding of the exam pattern, type of questions you are going to be tested on and most importance sufficient practice.

Enthuware Oracle Certification Java Exam preparation solutions ensure that you’ve gained sufficient knowledge and practice to pass these coveted industry certifications in 1st Attempt. 

If you have any queries related to Oracle Java Certification, course, payments, etc., please feel free to contact us.